This is the "Home" page of the "Campus Library: Livonia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Campus Library: Livonia  

Last Updated: Jan 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.davenport.edu/livonia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Information

Contact Information

Address: 19499 Victor Parkway Livonia, MI 48152
Telephone: 734.943.2830
Toll Free: 800.585.0575

Email: lv_library@davenport.edu

 

Library Services

Library Services

  • Find Books: Search the library catalog.
  • Find Articles: Search the library databases for magazine, journal, and newspaper articles.
  • Renew Books: Log in to your account, click on Checked Out and select the books to renew.
  • Inter-library Loan: Request an item not owned by the Library.
  • Got a Question? Ask Us!
 

Black History Month

Celebrate Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and Black History Month with these great reads!

Cover Art
I May Not Get There with You - Michael Eric Dyson
ISBN: 9780684867762
Publication Date: 2000-01-17
A private citizen who transformed the world around him, Martin Luther King, Jr., was arguably the greatest American who ever lived. Now, after more than thirty years, few people understand how truly radical he was. In this groundbreaking examination of the man and his legacy, provocative author, lecturer, and professor Michael Eric Dyson restores King's true vitality and complexity and challenges us to embrace the very contradictions that make King relevant in today's world.

Cover Art
Martin Luther King, Jr - Marshall Frady
ISBN: 0670882313
Publication Date: 2002-01-14
As a young journalist in the South in the 1960s, Marshall Frady walked the hot sidewalks, sat in crowded churches and courtrooms, and interviewed prominent civil rights leaders. Now the critically acclaimed biographer joins the bestselling Penguin Livesseries to profile the man whose spiritual and political leadership has gained him an indelible place in twentieth-century history. In the masterly and riveting Martin Luther King, Jr., Frady draws on his twenty-five years of award-winning commentary on American race relations to give an inspiring portrait of this amazing leader and the turbulent era in which he lived. Martin Luther King, Jr., deftly interweaves the history of the civil rights movement with King's rise to fame and influence and includes fascinating insight into factions within the movement itself. Frady explores the complexities of King's relationship with the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, J. Edgar Hoover's relentless pursuit of King's demise, and King's own anticipation of his death. Above all, Frady's spellbinding voice brings to new life the ambitious, pious son of an Atlanta Baptist minister thrust onto a national platform of moral grandeur and shows, in vividly recalled scenes, recalling how both King and his country reacted to those cataclysmic years.

Cover Art
Malcolm X Speaks - George Breitman (Editor); Malcolm X
ISBN: 0802132138
Publication Date: 1994-01-11
These are the major speeches made by Malcolm X during the last tumultuous eight months of his life. In this short period of time, his vision for abolishing racial inequality in the United States underwent a vast transformation. Breaking from the Black Muslims, he moved away from the black militarism prevalent in his earlier years only to be shot down by an assassin's bullet.

Cover Art
The Debt - Randall Robinson
ISBN: 0525945245
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
"Randall Robinson makes a case for the enormous debt America owes to Africans and African Americans for the incalculable damage blacks have suffered and continue to suffer as a result of nearly two hundred and fifty years of slavery and segregation." "In Robinson's view, America must accept responsibility for the grievous wrong that has been committed against Africans and African Americans, and take steps to redress that wrong: and black Americans need to arm themselves with a more comprehensive awareness of their ancient history and a fuller recognition of their ongoing contribution to our nation and the world."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Daybreak of Freedom - Stewart Burns (Editor)
ISBN: 0807846619
Publication Date: 1997-10-20
The Montgomery bus boycott was a formative moment in twentieth-century history: a harbinger of the African American freedom movement, a springboard for the leadership of Martin Luther King Jr., and a crucial step in the struggle to realize the American dream of liberty and equality for all. InDaybreak of Freedom, Stewart Burns presents a groundbreaking documentary history of the boycott. Using an extraordinary array of more than one hundred original documents, he crafts a compelling and comprehensive account of this celebrated year-long protest of racial segregation.Daybreak of Freedomreverberates with the voices of those closest to the bus boycott, ranging from King and his inner circle, to Jo Ann Robinson and other women leaders who started the protest, to the maids, cooks, and other 'foot soldiers' who carried out the struggle. With a deft narrative hand and editorial touch, Burns weaves their testimony into a riveting story that shows how events in Montgomery pushed the entire nation to keep faith with its stated principles.

Cover Art
The Color of Freedom - David Carroll Cochran
ISBN: 0791441865
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Offers a fresh, distinctive, & compelling analysis of the United State's continuing dilemma of race.

Cover Art
Selma, 1965 - Charles E. Fager
ISBN: 0807004057
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
“Angell and Pinn have selected a set of lively and significant examples of social protest literature from A.M.E. Church periodicals and demonstrated that these newspapers and journals represent a critically important location in which African Americans debated vital questions of the day.”-Judith Weisenfeld, Barnard College Although the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) Church has long been acknowledged as a crucial institution in African American life during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, relatively little attention has been given to the ways in which the church’s publications influenced social awareness and protest among its members and others, both in the United States and abroad. Filling that gap, this volume brings together a rich sampling of A.M.E. literature addressing a variety of social issues and controversies. As the editors observe, the formation of independent black churches in the early nineteenth century was not just a religious act but a political one with ramifications extending into every area of life. The A.M.E. Church, as a leader among those new denominations, made the educational, moral, political, and social needs of black Americans a constant concern. Through its newspapers and magazines-including the A.M.E. Church Review and the Christian Recorder-the church produced a steady flow of news articles, editorials, and scholarly essays that articulated its positions, nurtured intellectual debate, and contributed to the ongoing struggle for racial equality. Drawing together writings from the Civil War era to the eve of World War II, this book is organized thematically. Each chapter presents a selection of A.M.E. sources on a particular topic: civil rights, education, black theology, African missions and emigrationism, women’s identities, and socialism and the social gospel. Among the writers represented are such notable figures as W. E. B. Du Bois, Henry McNeal Turner, Ida B. Wells, Amanda Berry Smith, and Benjamin Tucker Tanner. An invaluable new resource for researchers and students, this book demonstrates both the variety and vitality of A.M.E. social and political thought. The Editors: Stephen W. Angell is associate professor of religion at Florida A&M University and author of Henry McNeal Turner and African-American Religion in the South. Anthony B. Pinn is associate professor of religious studies at Macalester College. He is the author of Why Lord? Suffering and Evil in Black Theology and Varieties of African American Religious Experience and editor of Making the Gospel Plain:  The Writings of Bishop Reverdy C. Ransom.

Cover Art
The Words of Martin Luther King, Jr. - Coretta Scott King; Martin Luther King
ISBN: 0937858285
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Includes 120 excerpts from speeches, sermons, and writings, and chronology.

Cover Art
Ripples of Hope - Joshua Gottheimer; Bill Clinton (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0465027520
Publication Date: 2003-04-14
Ripples of Hope brings together the most influential and important civil rights speeches from the entire range of American history-from the colonial period to the present. Gathered from the great speeches of the civil rights movement of African Americans, Asian Americans, gays, Hispanic Americans, and women, Ripples of Hope includes voices as diverse as Sister Souljah, Spark Matsui, and Harvey Milk, which, taken as a whole, constitute a unique chronicle of the modern civil rights movement.Featuring a foreword by President Bill Clinton and an afterword by Mary Frances Berry, this collection represents not just a historical first but also an indispensable resource for readers searching for an alternative history of American rhetoric. Edited and with an introduction by former Clinton speechwriter Josh Gottheimer, the stirring speeches that make up this volume provide an important perspective on our nation's development, and will inform the future debate on civil rights.

Cover Art
In Search of Democracy - Sondra Kathryn Wilson
ISBN: 019511633x
Publication Date: 1999-08-05
This collection of writings offers a glimpse into the minds of three N.A.A.C.P. leaders who occupied the center of black thought and action during some of the most troublesome and pivotal times of the civil rights movement. The volume delineates fifty-seven years of the N.A.A.C.P.'s program under the successive direction of James Weldon Johnson, Walter White, and Roy Wilkins. These writings illustrate the vital roles of these three leaders in building a peoples liberation, underscoring not only their progressive influence throughout their time in power, but also a vision of the future as race relations enter the 21st Century. Much of the material, notably "The Secretary's Reports to the Board," is published here for the first time, offering an invaluable resource for those seeking a deeper knowledge of the history of race in America

Cover Art
The Civil Rights Movement - Peter B. Levy; Randall M. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 0313298548
Publication Date: 1998-02-28
"Six essays capture the drama and conflict of the struggle, covering, among other topics, the origins of the movement, the fight for legal equality, the role of women, and the lasting effects of the protests of the 1950s and 1960s. Ready-reference features include biographical profiles of 20 activists, from Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X to Ella Jo Baker and Bayard Rustin, a chronology, bibliography, and photographs. This work also contains 15 primary documents, including presidential addresses and speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., Stokely Carmichael, Malcolm X, and George Wallace."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
American Civil Rights Policy from Truman to Clinton - Steven A. Shull
ISBN: 0765603934
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Documents the critical role presidents have played in setting the agenda, framing the terms of debate, and formulating specific policy goals with respect to civil rights. Identifies the limits of presidential influence as well as the impact of presidential leadership through Congress and federal agencies, and compares presidents in terms of rhetoric, performance, and effectiveness in this controversial policy arena. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

 

New Books at Livonia

New Books at Livonia

Cover Art
Corporate Governance after the Financial Crisis - Stephen M. Bainbridge
ISBN: 9780199772421
Publication Date: 2012-01-25
The first decade of the new millennium was bookended by two major economic crises. The bursting of the dotcom bubble and the extended bear market of 2000 to 2002 prompted Congress to pass theSarbanes-Oxley Act, which was directed at core aspects of corporate governance. At the end of the decade came the bursting of the housing bubble, followed by a severe credit crunch, and the worst economic downturn in decades. In response, Congress passed theDodd-Frank Act, which changed vast swathes of financial regulation. Among these changes were a number of significant corporate governance reforms. Corporate Governance after the Financial Crisisasks two questions about these changes. First, are they a good idea that will improve corporate governance? Second, what do they tell us about the relative merits of the federal government and the states as sources of corporate governance regulation? Traditionally, corporate law was the province of the states. Today, however, the federal government is increasingly engaged in corporate governance regulation. The changes examined in this work provide a series of case studies in which to explore the question of whether federalization will lead to better outcomes. The author analyzes these changes in the context of corporate governance, executive compensation, corporate fraud and disclosure, shareholder activism, corporate democracy, and declining US capital market competitiveness.

Cover Art
Behavioral Business Ethics - David De Cremer; Ann E. Tenbrunsel
ISBN: 9780415873246
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
This book takes a look at how and why individuals display unethical behavior. It emphasizes the actual behavior of individuals rather than the specific business practices. It draws from work on psychology which is the scientific study of human behavior and thought processes. As Max Bazerman said, "efforts to improve ethical decision making are better aimed at understanding our psychological tendencies."

Cover Art
The Little Black Book of Innovation - Scott D. Anthony
ISBN: 9781422171721
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
Innovation may be the hottest discipline around todayin business circles and beyond. For all the enthusiasm the topic inspires, however, the practice of innovation remains stubbornly impenetrable. No longer. In The Little Black Book of Innovation, long-time innovation expert Scott D. Anthony draws on stories from his research and field work to demystify innovation. In his trademark conversational and lively style, Anthony presents a simple definition of innovation, breaks down the essential differences between types of innovation, and illuminates innovations vital role in organizational success and personal growth.

Cover Art
Assisted Death in Europe and America - Guenter Lewy
ISBN: 9780199746415
Publication Date: 2010-09-24
Advances in medical treatment now enable physicians to prolong life to a previously unknown extent, however in many instances these new techniques mean not the saving of life but prolonging the act of dying. In the eyes of many, medical technology has run out of control and contributes to unnecessary suffering. Hence the demand has arisen that patients should be entitled to choose death when pain and physical and mental deterioration have destroyed the possibility of a dignified and meaningful life and that their doctors should help them to realize this endeavor. At the present time there are seven jurisdictions in the world that, with various restrictions, have legalized the practice of assisted death -- physician-assisted suicide and/or voluntary euthanasia - to wit, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland in Europe and the states of Oregon, Washington and Montana in the United States. Four of these regimes - in the Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland and the state of Oregon -- have been functioning for many years, and we have for them a substantial body of data as well as much observational research. This book is based upon this material. The literature dealing with the moral, legal and social aspects of assisted death is voluminous, but there is a paucity of writing that provides a detailed account of the way these four regimes are actually working. Many partisans, on both sides of the issue, cite existing data selectively or, at times, willfully distort the empirical evidence in order to strengthen their case. Based on the documentary record and interviews with officials and scholars, this book seeks to give the specialist as well as the general interested reader a reliable picture of the way assisted death functions and to draw relevant lessons. While accurate factual information cannot settle a moral debate, it nevertheless is a precondition of any well-founded argument. 'The author speaks authoritatively about the issues he addresses. I think this book does make an important contribution to the field. It will be of interest to students and scholars of PAS as a source of information and reference. I definitely recommend publication.' Stuart Youngner, Department of Bioethics, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine 'The information collected here makes an important contribution to the literature on PAS because it collects a broad array of relevant information into a single volume. It is interesting and enlightening. This will make the book a valuable resource for anyone interested in the subject and an especially useful resource for academics who study or teach about the issues.' Rosamond Rhodes, Director, Bioethics Education, Mt Sinai School of Medicine

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip