What does it do and what will I see?
- Journal/Magazine titles: Search all journals, newspapers or magazines the library subscribes to by title or partial title
- Dates of coverage: It will show the years available for that journal
- Format: Will tell you whether the journal is available in print or in one of the databases
- Link to it: If it is available electronically, you can link to it right there
Types of Journals
| Scholarly Journals | Popular Magazines | Trade Magazines/Journals |
- audience: scholars, researchers, students
- purpose: to further the knowledge in that subject area
- written by subject experts, usually in that field
- scholarly articles
- language: specialized terminology
or jargon of the field
- includes: abstracts, methodology, discussion, conclusion, bibliography
- includes sources in bibliographies
- e.g. Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Art Bulletin, American Economic Review
|
- audience: the general public
- purpose: to inform and entertain
- written by good writers who are hired by the magazine to research a topic and write about it
- general information articles, not scholarly
- language: easy to understand, high school level
- includes lots of glossy ads and photographs
- very little information is given about sources
- e.g Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, National Geographic
|
- audience: professionals in the field
- purpose: to keep professionals in that field up on current news, trends and products
- written by staff members of the professional organization and prominent members of the field
- Articles are focused on a particular industry/trade/business
- usually practical, applied information
- informal, articles organized like a newsletter
- authors often mention sources, and may formally cite them in bibliographies
- e.g American Libraries, PC World, Restaurant Business
|