This is the "Home" page of the "Find Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find Books  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2012 URL: http://libguides.davenport.edu/findbooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books: Search the Library Catalog

Find:
Use the library catalog to search for items by title, author, subject, or keywords for items in our collections.  

What is in the catalog?

  • Physical objects: everything for which we have a hard copy or print version
    • books
    • journals
    • magazines
    • newspapers
    • DVDs
    • VHS tapes
  • e-books: access links to the e-books we own
  • Websites: links to key websites in the areas of study at Davenport University

Request:
If the item is not kept at your home campus, you can request it be sent from the collections of any of our 9 libraries to your campus' library.

 

Call Numbers

Below is list of call numbers arranged by subject, in case you want to browse an area of the stacks.

  • 000 Generalities
  • 100 Philosophy & psychology
  • 200 Religion
  • 300 Social sciences
  • 400 Language
  • 500 Natural sciences & mathematics
  • 600 Technology (Applied sciences)
  • 700 The arts
  • 800 Literature & rhetoric
  • 900 Geography & history
  • Each book in the library has its own call number on the spine of the book.
  • You need to have this number in order to find a book on the library shelf.

E-book Collections

Search the catalog for specific e-book titles in our collections or browse the collections by going directly to them:

  • Ebsco e-books Collection
    E-books on a broad array of subjects.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on health, endangered species, culture, countries, business, economic history, and biology.
  • Computer/CIS e-books (Safari)
    Information Technology /CIS/computer reference e-books that cover certification, databases, the Internet, networking, operating systems, programming, security, and more.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip