Find Articles: Individual Database Search
List of Databases
When searching the databases for information, keep the following tips in mind:
- Click on Full-Text or Full Text PDF to retrieve articles that can be read immediately.
- Click on Peer-Reviewed or Refereed to view articles from scholarly journals
- Enter in keywords rather than full sentences
- By placing quotation marks around a specific phrase, you can limit your results to items that use that exact phrase, e.g: "global warming"
Find Articles: Multiple Database Search
Search Multiple Databases
- Things to know before the search:
- Includes primarily article databases (not statistical databases, not e-book databases)
- Enter in keywords rather than full sentences
- Quotation marks around a specific phrase (e.g: "global warming") limits your results to items that use that exact phrase, (though not all of the databases support phrase searching in the multiple database search)
- Things to know about your search results:
- Results are displayed in sets of 25 articles per database
- Articles are not ranked in any order for relevancy (the most likely to be a major article on your topic). First in the result list are ones from the databases that responded first and included your search terms.
- Things to know to adjust your search results:
- You can only limit the results to full text after the initial search. Click on the "Full Text" checkbox on the left on the results page.
- During and after the search, you can click on "Show Summary" to see what databases are being searched and which databases have the most hits. Click on them to limit to just that database.
- You can limit which set of databases are searched by clicking on either "Refine search" or "New search" on the top left. Click on "All" at the top of the database list to see the entire list and select from it.
InterLibrary Loan
Article not available in full text?
You can request it by filling out the Inter-library loan form and we will get it for you from a different library.
Need a Place to Start to Find Full Text Articles?
The following databases cover a wide variety of subjects and mainly contain full text articles.
- Academic Onefile
- Coverage of a variety of academic disciplines -- from science, technology, and medicine to the humanities. The majority of the content is peer-reviewed and available in full-text.
- General Onefile
- News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: agriculture, broadcast news, business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, general news, government, health care, hobbies, humanities, industry, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Discussions of current social issues --the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes statistics, government data, legislation, and more.
- Proquest Central
- Covers 160 subjects including business, education, health, humanities, law, literature, nursing, news, psychology, science, social sciences, technology, and women's studies.


Loading...
