Skip to main content
DU HOME

APA Help

Articles: Journal, Magazine, Newspaper


Print Magazine/Journal Article

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication date). Title of article. Title of Magazine/Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), page numbers.

Example:

Fine, M. A., & Kurdek, L. A. (1993). Reflections on determining authorship credit and authorship order on faculty-student collaborations.  American Psychologist, 48(7), 1141-1147.


Magazine/journal article with DOI

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication Date). Title of article. Title of Magazine/Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), page numbers. doi number.

Note: If the doi is not formatted as a url, use the characters doi: before the doi.  If it is formatted as a url, do not include doi:.

Examples:

Evans, L. (2010). Observations on the changing language of accounting. Accounting History, 15(4), 439-462. doi:10.1177/‌1032373210373619

Ryosuke, M. (2016). Palaeobiology: Born and gone in global warming. Current Biology, 26(11), R466–R468. http://dx.doi.org.proxy.davenport.edu/10.1016/j.cub.2016.04.014

 


Online journal or magazine article without a DOI found in a database

The format is the same as citing an article with a DOI, except you include the homepage of the magazine/journal.  You may have to perform a quick websearch to find this.

Format:

Author's Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication Date).  Title of article. Title of Magazine/Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), page numbers.  Retrieved from url.

Example:

Broida, R. (2013, July). Uninstall unwanted apps in Windows 8. PC World, 31(7), 94.  Retrieved from http://www.pcworld.com


Print newspaper article

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication Date). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, page numbers.

Example:

Samuelson, R. J. (2003, September 22). The creaky job machine. The Detroit News, p. A44.


Online newspaper article

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication Date). Title of article.  Title of newspaper.  Retrieved from url

Example:

Thompson, C. (2010, December 9). GM to help Hawaii get hydrogen fuel stations. Detroit Free Press. Retrieved from http://www.freep.com


Citations From DU Databases

Advertising Age Datacenter

Format:

Individual or Group Author. (date). Title of document or report.  Retrieved from http://www.adage.com

Examples:

Advertising Age. (2016, June). Marketer trees 2016. Retrieved from http://www.adage.com

Advertising Age, & RBC Capital Markets. (2016, September). Survey of advertising professionals attitudes toward online advertising.  Retrieved from http://www.adage.com

Business Decision

Format:

Name of report: Name of geographic region(s) [Explanatory Note]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from Business Decision database.

Example:

Retail goods and service expenditures: 200 S Grand Ave. Lansing, 48933-1806 ring 1 mile radius, 42.732625, -84.550683 [Expenditure Report]. (2017). Retrieved January 27, 2017, from Business Decision database.


Business Insights Global

Company Report

Format:

Name of Company [Company Report]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from Business Insights Global database.

Example:

General Motors Co. [Company Report]. (2016). Retrieved December 15, 2016, from Business Insights Global database.


Comparison Chart

Format:

Name of chart: List of companies, countries, or industries [Comparison Chart]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from Business Insights Global database.

Example:

Revenue by company: General Motors Co and Ford Motor Co. [Comparison Chart]. (2016). Retrieved December 15, 2016, from Business Insights Global database.


Demographics Now

Format:

Name of report: Name of geographic region(s) [Explanatory Note]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from Demographics Now database.

Example:

Demographic snapshot comparison: 48906 Lansing, 48910 Lansing, 48911 Lansing, 48912 Lansing, 48915 Lansing, 48917 Lansing, 48933 Lansing [Demographic Data]. (2016). Retrieved December 15, 2016, from Demographics Now database.


eStatement Studies

Format:

NAICS code [Industry Data]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from eStatement Studies database.

Example:

325510 – Paint and coating manufacturing [Industry Data]. (2016). Retrieved December 15, 2016, from eStatement Studies database.


KBR

Format:

Name of Report [Explanatory Note]. (Year of Publication). Retrieved from url.

Example:

SIC 10-metal mining [Industry Report]. (2015). Retrieved from http://mergentkbr.com/index.php/reports/industry

832447812 – General Motors Company [Company Report]. (2015). Retrieved from http://mergentkbr.com/index.php/reports/companyFinancials/832447812


Mergent Online and Mergent Intellect

Format:

Name of Company [Company Report]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from Mergent Online or Mergent Intellect database.

Example:

Steelcase Inc. [Company Report]. (2016). Retrieved December 15, 2016, from Mergent Online database.


Mintel

Format:

Analyst’s last name, First initial. (Publication date). Title of report [Industry Report]. Retrieved from Mintel Oxygen database.

Example:

Sisel, E. (2016, September). Coffee – US [Industry Report]. Retrieved from Mintel Oxygen database.


Opposing Viewpoints and Global Issues In Context - Topic Overviews

Format:

Name of topic [Topic Overview]. (Publication Year). Retrieved from database name.

Example:

Body image [Topic Overview]. (2016). Retrieved from Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.

Cyberbullying [Topic Overview]. (2016). Retrieved from Global Issues in Context database.


ProQuest International Data Sets

Format:

Data Provider. (Year). Title [Data file]. Retrieved from source url found under "Detailed Information"

Example:

Eurostat. (2011). Reasons for not participating in lifelong learning by age [Data file]. Retrieved from http://appsso.eurostat.ec.europa.eu/nui/show.do?dataset=trng_aes_196&lang=en


Standard & Poor’s

Format:

Name of report [Explanatory Note if necessary]. (date). Retrieved retrieval date, from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Example:

Herman Miller, Inc. (NasdaqGS:MLHR) public company profile. (2017). Retrieved January 27, 2017, from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Government debt interest rates overview. (2017). Retrieved January 27, 2017, from S&P NetAdvantage database.