Skip to main content
HOME

APA Help

Websites & More


Website

Format:

Author. (Publication date, or n.d. if no date is available). Title.  Retrieved from url

Example:

American Health Information Management Association. (n.d.). AHIMA code of ethics. Retrieved from http://www.ahima.org/‌about/‌ethicscode.aspx


Podcast

Format:

Last Name, First Initial. (Role, such as Speaker, Host, Singer, etc.). (Publication Date). Title of podcast [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from url

Example:

Palca, J. (Speaker). (2010, December 8). We have liftoff: SpaceX launches test spacecraft [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.npr.org


Online Video

Format:

Last Name, First Initial. OR Screen name. (Date of video post). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved from url

Example:

Schelske, D. (2014, August 27). APA - basic page formatting [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qt5Y8xtJ-wo&feature=youtu.be


PowerPoint Slides

Note: When Powerpoint slides are available only from an instructor through Blackboard, they are considered personal communication.  Personal communication is cited in-text only in the body of your paper and not included on the References page.  Use the format (First initial. Last name, personal communication, date of interaction) for your in-text citations.  See the In-text citation section for an example.

If the slides are available online use the following format on your references page:

Format:

Last Name, First Initial. (year). Title of presentation [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from url.


Data Set

Format:

Rightsholder. (Year). Title [Data file]. Retrieved from url.

Example:

Zimstat. (2011). Zimbabwe: Women who have ever experienced physical violence since age 15 [Data file]. Retrieved from http://devinfo.org/zimdat/libraries/aspx/Home.aspx


Online Images

Format if author is known:

Author. (Date). Title of image or description of image [Explanatory note such as Photograph, Image, Chart, etc.]. Retrieved from url

Example:

Rossetti, D. G. (1870). Jane Morris [Drawing]. Retrieved from http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection/art-object-page.70389.html


Format if author is unknown:

Title of image or description of image [Explanatory note such as Photograph, Image, Chart, etc.]. (Date). Retrieved from url

Example:

Portrait of a man [Painting]. [ca. 1795]. Retrieved from http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection/art-object-page.34083.html

Note: If the exact date is unknown but can be reasonably approximated, use ca. (short for circa) and replace the parentheses with brackets.


Archival Materials

Format:

Author. (Date). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of collection (Call number, Box number, Folder number, etc.). Name and location of archives.

Example:

John Todd's Photo Service, Kalamazoo. [ca. 1935]. First Federal Savings and Loan building, fourth location of Parson's Business College, corner of Michigan and Park. [Original photographic print]. Kalamazoo/Iron Mountain Collection (Box 1, Folder 17). Davenport University Archives, Grand Rapids, MI.

Note: If the specific date is unknown but can be reasonably estimated, put ca. before the year (short for circa) and replace the parentheses with brackets.


Financial Reports

Basic Format:

Author. (Date). Document title. Retrieved from (File Name and number--if available--and any other information needed to trace the report)


When the company is the author:

Example 1

General Electric Co. (2009). SEC Form 10-K for the Year Ended December 31, 2009. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

In-text citation: (General Electric Co., 2009)

Example 2

Twitter, Inc. (2014). SEC Form 10-K for the Year Ended December 31, 2013. Retrieved SEC EDGAR website http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtm

In-text citation: (Twitter, 2014)


When the company is not the author:

Disclosure Incorporated. (2009). International Business Machines: Disclosure report. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database.

In-text citation: (Disclosure Incorporated, 2009)


From a free website:

Texas Instruments. (2010). 2010 Annual Report to Shareholders. Retrieved from http://www.ti.com/corp/docs/investor/ar10/index.html

In-text citation: (Texas Instruments, 2010)